2nd XV welcome Vale in Lancashire derby

Date: 28 September 2012

The yet to be vanquished second team host Lancastrian rivals Vale of Lune at Lightfoot Green on Saturday. It promises to be a fiercely contested fixture but Young’s men will be quietly confident following last week’s morale boosting victory against Macclesfield.

Lewis Allen and Matt Gargett are promoted to the first team squad whilst Jonny Doney, Sam Gale and the in form Russ Flynn are unavailable. As a result Ollie Yates, Greg Horsfall, John Wells and Mark Murray return to the fold whilst Dan Madden comes back after being on first team duty.

The return of Wells and Murray is a welcome boost to the squad as both have been suffering from long term injuries. In recent weeks they have appeared for Gavin McQueen’s successful third team and have now returned to full fitness.

After appearing from the bench last week Josh Thundercliffe and Andrew Pollack make their first starts in the blue and white. Meanwhile Brad Tuff starts his first match of the season as Alan Martindale and Tim Molloy take their turn amongst the replacements. Oga Mabaya moves to the back row whilst the inclusion of Wells sees Alex Austin move to number eight. Elsewhere in the backs Reddick moves to full-back, Yates starts at outside centre and Murray has the task of stepping into young Lewis Allen’s boots as playmaker.

Despite the inclement conditions this week Hoppers have trained well, including a “Rocky” session courtesy of the coaches on Tuesday night. It seems an age since the second team have played at Lightfoot Green so the lads would (as ever) appreciate any support this Saturday.

Meet time is scheduled for 1.30pm ahead of a 3.00pm kick off, players are reminded to wear their polo shirts/black pants/black shoes post match (fines to be enforced). The squad is as follows:

Josh Thundercliffe
Brad Tuff
Dan Madden
Dan Fletcher
John Wells
Oga Mabaya
Will Keenan
Alex Austin
Matt Conway
Mark Murray
Anthony Elliott
Cameron Berry (c)
Ollie Yates
Andrew Pollack
Harry Reddick

Reps: Alan Martindale, Tim Molloy, Greg Horsfall.


Back to Club News