8 in county action

Date: 03 May 2013

Saturday 4th May sees 8 Preston Grasshoppers players called up for senior county action for both Lancashire and Cheshire.

Lancashire’s squad to face Durham at Hartlepool Rovers includes 7 of this years 1st XV squad, 6 in the starting lineup and 1 on the bench. Gareth Gore, Ally Murray and Dominic Moon are rewarded for their excellent form this season and start in the pack. Jack Ward, Phil Baines and Sean Taylor will be hoping to replicate the form they’ve shown for Hoppers when they take their places in the back line. Hooker Phil Mills is named amongst the replacements.

There is also a Hoppers selected for Cheshire this weekend with flanker Will Keenan taking his place amongst the replacements when Cheshire take on Yorkshire.

Congratulations to all the players who have been selected to represent their county.

Lancashire team to play Durham

15 Sean Taylor (Preston Grasshoppers); 14 Nick Royle (Vale of Lune), 13 Philip Baines (Preston Grasshoppers), 12 Jack Ward (Preston Grasshoppers), 11 Andrew Riley (Sedgley Park); 10 Steve Collins (Sedgley Park), 9 Callum McShane (Sedgley Park); 1 Sam Simpson (Eccles), 2 John Matthews (Otley), 3 Nick Flynn (Sedgley Park); 4 Louis McGowan (Sedgley Park) (C), 5 Gareth Gore (Preston Grasshoppers); 6 Alastair Murray (Preston Grasshoppers), 7 Billy Emerson (Sedgley Park), 8 Dominic Moon (Preston Grasshoppers).

Replacements – 16 Anthony Harvey (Waterloo), 17 Nick King (Caldy), 18 Philip Mills (Preston Grasshoppers), 19 Mark Williams (Liverpool St. Helens), 20 Sam Wallbank (Vale of Lune), 21 James Smith (Caldy), 22 Curtis Strong (Fylde)

Cheshire team to face Yorkshire

15 Jack Moorhouse – Macclesfield, 14 Tom Evans – Chester, 13 Danny Rich – Birkenhead Park, 12 Rhys Hayes – Chester, 11 David Williamson – Lymm, 10 Will Cargill – Sanbach, 9 John Broxson – Caldy, 1 Jack Collister – Loughboroug Students, 2 Henry Platt – Sale FC, 3 James Whitlock-Wainwright – Chester, 4 Ross White – Chester, 5 Tom Gregory – Chester, 6 Oli Higginson – Lymm, 7 Mike Craven – Chester, 8 Adam Kettle(c) – Doncaster Knights


16 Will Keenan – Preston Grasshoppers, 17 Matt Beesley – Sandbach, 18 Matt Ibbotson – Birkenhead Park, 19 Sam Stelmaszek – Sale FC, 20 Joe Gammage – Crewe & Nantwich, 21 Nick Smith – Stockport, 22 Adam Bray – Lymm

Back to Club News