End of Season Dinner 2015

Date: 13 May 2015

Saturday evening saw the 7 senior rugby sides plus 2 Colts sides gather in the clubhouse for the end of season dinner. The evening, hosted by Chairman of Rugby Bill Bailey, was a celebration of all the teams and what they have achieved this season as well as offering a chance to recognise individual contributions throughout the year.

There were also 5 trophies on display at the dinner with the 2nd and 3rd XV BEST trophies, the Junior Colts and Senior Colts Lancashire Cups as well as the Junior Colts League Bowl sitting proudly on the top table.

The team of the year award went to the 3rd XV who had won a cup and promotion double after being  relegated the previous season.

The Leigh Trophy for the Clubman of The Year award was presented to James Mawdsley who has battled stage 3 Hodgkin’s Lymphoma for the past 8 months but has still found time to coach at the club and made a playing comeback at the end of the season.

Please have a look below for the winners from each team.

Leigh Trophy Clubman of the Year

James Mawdsley

Team of the Year

3rd XV

6th XV

Players’ Player – Bill Lambert

Player of the Year – Kevin Spree

Best Newcomer – Richard Hodge

5th XV

Players’ Player – Dominic Jackson

Player of the Year – Alastair Worth

Best Newcomer – Dominic Jackson

4th XV

Players’ Player – Richard Howard

Player of the Year – Duncan Brown

Best Newcomer – Alex Johnson

3rd XV

Players’ Player – Jake Shepherd

Player of the Year – Stephen Lightfoot

Best Newcomer – Craig Procter

2nd XV

Players’ Player – Alex Ward

Player of the Year – Richard Wardell

Best Newcomer – Luke Clitheroe

1st XV

Players’ Player – Andrew Napier

Player of the Year – Chris Taylor

Best Newcomer – Reece Tomlinson

Women’s XV

Players’ player – Jennie Pendlebury

Coaches Player – Emily Stirzaker

Best Newcomer – Jamie-Leigh Hewison

Junior Colts

Players’ Player – Kieran Walmsley

Coaches Player – Rhys Phillips

Junior Clubman of the Year – Aiden Clow

Most Improved – Chris Dixon

Senior Colts

Players’ Player – Tyler Sloane

Coaches Players – James Murphy

Most improved player – Jarvis Stanton

Congratulations to everyone for a very succesful season, here’s to an even better one next season! Enjoy the Summer!


Thank you to Kelly Singleton and Mike Forshaw for taking the photos below and allowing us to use them.

Back to Club News