Lancashire are Champions!

Date: 02 June 2014

Lancashire secured the Bill Beaumont County Championship with a tremendous second half comeback against Cornwall.

Trailing 23-10 at the break the Lancashire team scored four unanswered second half tries to secure a fifth title in six years. Lancashire’s tries came from Mark Rylance, Evan Stewart, Chris Johnson, Matt Lamprey and Tom Burtonwood.

Representing Preston Grasshoppers were Sean Taylor, Phil Baines and Peter Altham.

For a full report please check the Lancashire Rugby website.

15 Sean Taylor (Preston Grasshoppers) 14 Warren Spragg (Fylde) 13 Chris Briers (Fylde) 12 Matt Riley (Sedgley Park) 11 Oli Brennand (Fylde) 10 Chris Johnson (Captain) (Fylde) 9 Ryan De la Harpe (Fylde) 1 Adam Lewis (Fylde) 2 Mark Rylance (Fylde) 3 Ben Black (Sedgley Park) 4 Louis McGowan (Sedgley Park) 5 Gareth Gore (Fylde) 6 Gareth Rawlings (Longton) 7 Evan Stewart (Fylde) 8 Matt Lamprey (Sedgley Park)

Replacements – 16 Simon Griffiths (Fylde) 17 Peter Altham (Preston Grasshoppers) 18 David Fairbrother (Fleetwood) 19 Paul Arnold (Fylde) 20 Tom Burtonwood (Fylde) 21 Phil Baines (Preston Grasshoppers) 22 Steve Collins (Sedgley Park)

Back to Club News